Wedding at Talton Lodge

We have tied the knot!

We have managed to have a third baby, do an extension on our house and plan a wedding in six months! Are we mental? Oh yes! Are we tired? Exhausted!

We got married at Talton Lodge, a stunning place in Stratford-Upon-Avon. We have been a few times as the owners Barney and Livy are friends of Sam’s brother.

They are a lovely couple and made our day simply amazing! We got married outside Talton House next to some ancient trees and the twins were flowers girls. Their cousin Marcy walked them down the aisle and they were so good. Even Tamsin’s garland fell down over her eyes and she carried on like a trooper.

The ceremony was a great insight into our chaotic life with three kids under three. The twins were bored and wanted to play, Jacob was chewing my veil and then my veil flew off in the wind!

My mum’s friend Liz made my wedding dress (a top and skirt) as well as my veil. She is a genius and created exactly what I wanted. I sourced the lace from Paris and was so happy when I found it as I struggled to find what I wanted at first.

The girl’s dresses were from Tea Princess in Sydney (I came across them on Instagram) and the moccasins were made by Makwa Moccasins on Etsy. The man behind Makwa Moccasins is Jeffrey and his moccasins are amazing!

We had English Afternoon Tea in the garden with lovely homemade scones and cake. We then headed to the Kitchen Garden where the tipi and yurts were. Then the party kicked in!

We had a hog roast and amazing vegetables cooked by Livy. Puddings were bakewell tart with brown bread ice cream and salted caramel and chocolate tart. The hog roast was a pig from their farm, we saw the pigs a few weeks before and the girls were feeding them. They were so excited, then I found out one of the pigs was for our wedding! I felt awful. Maybe I should become a veggie.

All the speeches were fab and our four tier pork pie wedding cake from Eley’s Pork Pies went down very well. If only I had chance to taste it, I was too busy chatting and dancing!

The bonfire at night was a success as was the bar! The next morning involved lots of bacon and egg sandwiches with cups of tea and coffee to cure the hangovers.

Me and Sam both agree it couldn’t have gone any better. The weather went from a rainy week to a sunny weekend too, an added bonus!

We wanted our wedding to be as personal as possible and I think we achieved that. We did dreamcatchers with Sam’s Grannie Ann’s doilies, my mum made honey and oat soaps and we used my poppa’s honey from his bees. My brother made a little tipi for people to put cards in and a totem pole.

My mum made so much for the wedding, the raffia that was hung around the tipi, sticks with ribbon and bells on for the little ones, even personalised colouring books for the kids and my dad chopped lots of wood to put under the rosemary pots.

We used a vase during the ceremony to put flowers in that belonged to Sam’s Grannie Margaret, the Canadian moccasins were a nod to my Aunty Ann in Canada, and the flower girl dresses were a nod to my Uncle Wayne in Sydney.

I don’t think you can get any more personalised than that! Enjoy the pictures.

Me and my Dad

Me and my Dad

Marcy and the twins

Marcy and the twins

Me and my husband!

Me and my husband!

The ceremony

The ceremony

Dresses by Tea Princess

Dresses by Tea Princess

Sam and his dad outside Talton House

Sam and his dad outside Talton House

image

The totem pole

The totem pole

The dream catchers in the tipi. All the family helped to decorate the tipi. I couldn't have done it without them!

The dreamcatchers in the tipi. All the family helped to decorate the tipi. I couldn’t have done it without them!

The flowers were made by the lovely Amanda Luther. She is based next door to Talton Lodge. She did a fab job!

The wedding flowers were made by the lovely Amanda Luther. She is based next door to Talton Lodge. She did a fab job! I just loved my garland.

Sam with his brother and sister

Sam with his brother and sister

Quick toilet stop for the guys!

Quick toilet stop for the guys!

image

Close up of the pork pie wedding cake

Close up of the pork pie wedding cake

8 thoughts on “Wedding at Talton Lodge

  1. Congratulations! What a beautiful wedding!

    “The hog roast was a pig from their farm, we saw the pigs a few weeks before and the girls were feeding them. They were so excited, then I found out one of the pigs was for our wedding! I felt awful. Maybe I should become a veggie.”

    My girls are asking lots of questions about where their food comes from, and we tell them the truth. I’m pretty sure one of them is well on her way to becoming a vegetarian!

    • Thank you! We had a great day! Tamsin was asking lots of questions. Although she was mainly saying “mmmm..yummy!” so I don’t think she will be a veggie yet!

      • The one of mine who is leaning toward vegetarianism (one of my twins) has always been ambivalent about meat-based meals. She just doesn’t like meat much, and now she’s starting to learn that there’s a food philosophy that matches her taste preferences!

  2. Loved reading this about your wedding Kate!! What a brilliant day, and so nice that it was so personal! You all looked brilliant too. Hope your having a rest now! Lots of love Jenny xxx

Leave a Reply

