A cheeky trip to London

Me and my partner Sam decided to have a weekend away alone before baby number three arrives (six weeks to go – gulp). We chose London as I love walking round the markets picking up what Sam calls ‘tat’.

London is great for vintage finds and Sam always jokes I end up coming home with a weird looking door knob or something Alice in Wonderland related.

We stayed at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Islington and what a lovely hotel it was. The hotel manager Tom looked after us so well. He knew I was pregnant so kept sending up fruit and chocolate to our room for me. Such a lovely touch and kept me going whilst walking around London.

We saw the play The Book of Mormon at the Prince of Wales Theatre and I can honestly say I have never heard a crowd laugh as much as I did that night. Great show!

We also visited Borough Market and the Tower of London where there is currently an art installation by Paul Cummins called ‘Blood Swept Lands and Sea of Red’. Each day volunteers are placing ceramic poppies in the ground to represent all the British soldiers that died in World War One 100 years ago.

“How many ceramic poppies is that?” I asked Sam. “888,246” Sam replied. I was shocked at that figure. A very moving piece of artwork.

We also went for some lovely food at the Hoxley and Porter restaurant in lslington. The restaurant theme was a 1920s train and the food was nothing short of amazing. I should have taken a picture of my food like all the Instagram lovers do, but I was so hungry it didn’t touch the sides! I would definitely recommend it if you are in the area.

What were the twins doing I hear you ask? They were at my parents having a whale of a time, as you can see from the picture!

Ted's Veg at Borough Market

Ted’s Veg at Borough Market

Borough Market: We bought some of these mushroom goodies for a family member

Borough Market: We bought some of these mushroom goodies for a family member

Smoking area at Borough Market - great idea!

Smoking area at Borough Market – great idea!

Poor photo skills from myself - the redness of the ceramic poppies is so bright it is breathtaking

Poor photo skills from myself – the redness of the ceramic poppies is so bright it is breathtaking

Alice in Wonderland brooch I picked up at Exmouth Market. Sam was right!

Alice in Wonderland brooch I picked up at Exmouth Market. Sam was right!

2 thoughts on “A cheeky trip to London

  1. Love the blog Kate!! Glad you took some time for yourselves. I am sure your Mom and Dad loved having the twins. Take care of yourself. We are on a countdown with you. Loads of Love, Sue xx

Leave a Reply

