Am I the only one who doesn’t like being pregnant?

As you might have noticed I haven’t written a blog for a while and that is mainly because I have gone into hibernation since being pregnant.

To my surprise, this pregnancy has been a lot worse than my twin pregnancy. Considering I am only pregnant with one baby this time I just don’t know how!

I have had morning sickness, which I didn’t have with the twins. The tiredness this time round has been very difficult as well. A lot of people have said it is because I am running round after two toddlers but I don’t think I can blame them. I honestly think I would feel this awful if it was my first pregnancy.

I have been having a two hour nap when the twins have their nap in the afternoon and my god I have needed it. I have slacked on making their homemade food everyday and often found myself shoving some fish fingers in the oven instead. I simply don’t have the energy to cook.

I have also felt quite low with this pregnancy, again something I didn’t suffer from first time round. They do say every pregnancy is different!

I have also voiced my concerns about this pregnancy to the midwife since the twins were born at 29 weeks after my waters broke unexpectedly. I was referred to Stepping Hill Hospital to have a little counselling session with one of the doctors at the antenatal clinic.

I had questions such as:

What are the chances of me going into labour early again?

Will I be monitored more closely with this pregnancy?

Will I have extra scans?

What are the chances of me having pain relief this time? (The thought of no pain relief this time makes me panic)

I certainly have a negative association with giving birth after the last time was so traumatic. The doctor I spoke to was an American lady and she was lovely. She reassured me that I would be monitored more closely and has booked me in for a check up at 28 weeks and 36 weeks, which is great.

She also said there is no reason why I can’t ask for pain relief and the reason I wasn’t allowed any last time is because the twins arrived very quickly due to them being so small. Phew!

I love the Maternity Unit at Stepping Hill Hospital. The hospital always seems to get bad press but I have had such good experiences there. The staff are fantastic.

On the pregnancy front, I have decided I just don’t enjoy being pregnant. Lots of women do, saying they feel wonderful during pregnancy and have that amazing glow. Where my bloody glow is I have no idea as I currently look a character out of The Addams Family. Pregnancy for me is definitely a means to an end.

Anyway, to lighten up this blog the girls had their first haircut recently and were as good as gold. In fact, they loved it! I have kept their hair in an envelope for keepsake. Plus my poppa got a rare photo of them both looking at the camera and smiling at the same time. That never happens!

Phoebe giggling whilst having her first hair cut

Phoebe giggling whilst having her first hair cut

Tamsin enjoying a trim

Tamsin enjoying a trim

4 thoughts on “Am I the only one who doesn’t like being pregnant?

  1. You are definitely not the only one who hates being pregnant! My twins were 26 weekers (spontaneous preterm labor), and the emotional trauma associated with their early birth made my second pregnancy (with a singleton) an awful experience. I was worried the entire time. I ended up taking 17-p shots, which weren’t the standard of care for women in my situation (where the preterm delivery had been of twins), but it helped ease my mind a little. My third child did arrive early at 34 weeks, but she was huge and healthy, and her early delivery wasn’t related to preterm labor. To sum it up, my two pregnancies were very different from each other.

    By the way, I have several friends who had preemie twins and then full-term singletons. The risks are just higher with twins.

    Good luck!

    • Well that has made me feel so much better, thank you! Fingers crossed I will go full term but like you said, as it is a singleton it will probably be much bigger if the baby decides to come earlier.

      I will keep you updated and hopefully the labour will be less traumatic this time round!

      • I’m glad my story was helpful. 🙂

        By the way, I just love the picture of your twins. They remind me so much of my two at that age (they are now six, and today is their last day of kindergarten!).

Leave a Reply

