The Nub Theory

Recently I have been told about about the gender prediction Nub Theory. Heard of it before? Me neither.

Apparently The Nub Theory is about ‘the angle of the dangle.’ Between 11 and 14 weeks gestation both genders have a penis shaped protuberance between the legs. They look similar at this stage except the angle can be different.

The theory believes a boy’s ‘dangle’ is above 30 degrees relative to the backbone whilst a girl’s ‘dangle’ is below 30 degrees. See the picture below for an example.

The Nub Theory

The Nub Theory

I have had a look at my 12 week scan picture and unfortunately I can’t see a nub. Can you? Either way I am going to go with a guess. My prediction is a boy.

Having said that I was convinced the twins were boys and I was really shocked when the midwife said it’s a girl! The blue set of drawers in their bedroom was definitely a bad purchase.

I am guessing boy because this pregnancy has felt so different. Of course it is different as it is a singleton pregnancy but I have felt so rough this time round, more so than when I was pregnant with the twins. Maybe that’s because this time round I am running around after two toddlers but who knows.

My body is also a different shape, however that might be due to the fact I have done no exercise since the twins were born. When I fell pregnant with the twins I was going to the gym four times a week back when I had an endless amount of time to myself. Ahh those were the days!

So that’s my prediction. The only down side is that me and Sam are not going to find out the sex, so we will all have to wait till November!

2 thoughts on “The Nub Theory

  1. I have posted the scan picture into a Facebook group called ‘Gender Prediction Nub Theory’. So far the people who have commented have said boy going off the shape of the skull.

    Apparently if the forehead dips into the nose then it’s a boy. If it is level then it’s a girl. What an interesting theory, can’t wait to see if the prediction is correct!

Leave a Reply

