A night in The Wizard’s Thatch

Since having the twins me and Sam rarely have nights out on our own, something I’m sure many new parents experience. So I was totally surprised when he booked us in for a night at The Wizard’s Thatch in Alderley Edge, Cheshire.

Not only that, we were also booked in at The Bubble Room for a meal. My younger brother Joe is an assistant manager there and the food is amazing, so naturally I started to get excited about a night out!

My parents had Phoebe and Tamsin overnight much to their delight as they love having them and the girls love exploring their house finding something new to play with each time.

When we dropped them off this time the girls new obsession was the Henry hoover and sat playing with it for at least an hour. I hear you can get mini Henry hoover’s for kids so I might pop to Toys R Us and get them one to keep them occupied!

When we arrived at The Wizard’s Thatch it looked like something out of a Harry Potter film, really old English outside and inside. We were greeted by the owner Ian who bought it in the 1970s just before it was about to be bulldozed.

It’s a place full of character and you could stand in each room looking at all the memorabilia Ian has collected over the years. It took years to refurbish the old building and as you walk around you can see handprints in the walls from Ian’s five sons, two of which are twins.

We stayed in The Merlin Suite. Interestingly Ian showed us this suite first and then showed us the other two suites. He said I know which one you will pick, it happens every time. When we asked why he said whichever suite he shows the guests first they always choose that one and that’s exactly what we did!

The surprises didn’t stop there, Sam had left a Whistles bag on the bed for me. Since having the twins I have always felt guilty about spending money on myself and always think I should save it until I need to buy them something.

At this point I was super excited, I love Whistles and always drool when I walk past their shop window. When I opened the bag there was a long black coat, a classic white shirt and a pair of patent court shoes. EXCITED! I loved it all and when I wore it that night I didn’t feel like a mummy, instead I felt like a fashionista!

All in all it was a great night, The Bubble Room produced amazing food and service as usual and we met some old friends for a few more drinks.

Very well done Sam, you have earned yourself extra brownie points for that night!

The Wizard's Thatch, Alderley Edge

The Wizard’s Thatch, Alderley Edge

Walking towards The Merlin Suite

Walking towards The Merlin Suite

Tiny details wherever you look

Tiny details wherever you look

Quirky rabbit hutches

Quirky rabbit hutches

My obsession with toadstools continues

My obsession with toadstools continues

The Merlin Suite

The Merlin Suite

Old English details everywhere you look

Old English details everywhere you look

Shakespeare books on the windowsill

Shakespeare books on the windowsill

Windowsills full of items Ian has collected over the years

Windowsills full of items Ian has collected over the years

This place must take some dusting!

This place must take some dusting!

Whistles heaven!

Whistles heaven!

2 thoughts on “A night in The Wizard’s Thatch

  1. Ahhhh love the Whistles present how thoughtful!! I have just mentinoned this to my husband as a mega hint! Please checkout my blog thisluxlife.com it’s all about luxury lifestyle! x

Leave a Reply

